Wednesday  September  19th  2012 Weymouth Home Wednesday 19th September 2012 Evo-Stik Southern Premier League Frome Town 2 Weymouth 0 Frome Scorers:  Perrott (39), D.Evans  (47) Weymouth Scorers: None Crowd: 323 Star Man: Lewis Powell Entertainment Value: 4 Frome Town produced an excellent performance to gain a 2-0 victory over a Weymouth side that played a lot of good football in the middle of the park, but seemed to lack the cutting edge required to really trouble the home defence.  The first twenty minutes of the match was even but uneventful, with the sides tending to cancel each other out and producing little in the way of chances. Lewis Powell went close in the 22nd minute as the ball was headed down to him and he volleyed over the bar from 15 yards out, and then Weymouth entered a spell where they started causing Frome problems with possession on the edge of the Frome box, but the home defence stood firm. Frome had a big stroke of fortune in the 28th minute as a good Weymouth passing move led to Scott Walker getting behind the defence and producing a left wing cross that Craig Duff headed home, only for the goal to be disallowed by the referee for an apparent  push by Duff on Greg Tindle, and shortly afterwards, Darren Chitty had to be very alert to save low as Weymouth continued to turn the screw. As the half progressed, Weymouth were probably playing the better football, with Frome not really stringing together any moves of real quality, but, slightly against the run of play, Frome took the lead in the 39th minute as a hopeful, lofted right wing cross found the head of Mike Perrott on the edge of the Weymouth, his looping header found Simon Evans off his line and the ball dropped over his despairing reach into the net. Frome started the second half in great style, and a move of great quality saw them take the lead after two minutes of play. Nathan Auckland on the left wing played the ball in to Matt Smith and a superbly weighted return pass allowed Auckland to run into space and chip the ball back from the dead ball line allowing Dean Evans time and space to guide his header past Simon Evans from 10 yards out for an excellent goal and a 2-0 lead. The match then saw Weymouth pushing forward and spending a lot of time in the Frome half, but they failed to turn that pressure into real chances and Frome always looked very capable of scoring more goals on the break. Matt Smith shot just past the far post in the 52nd minute and Lewis Powell produced a great turn and shot that Evans did well to tip just past the far post three minutes later. Mike Perrott found himself clean through on goal in the 68th minute but a defender just did enough to deflect the shot wide, and a minute later a low Matt Smith shot brought a good save from Evans to deny him. The 75th minute saw Evans parry a 20 yard Smith shot into the path of Powell, and this time his shot was deflected onto the outside of the post, and two minutes later a left wing free kick found Smith unmarked, but his header cleared the bar by several feet. Weymouth had plenty of possession in this half, but all their attacks seemed to end with balls flying across the face of the goal, crosses that always found a Frome head and shots that were always off target, meaning that Darren Chitty was rarely troubled in the home goal. Darren Perrin brought on three late substitutions, including new signing Dave Gilroy who looked impressive with his touch and movement, and will surely be a very useful addition to the squad. The “H&B Tyres Man of the Match” as chosen by match sponsors “The Ultras”was Lewis Powell, who once again showed what a valuable signing he has been with his intelligent running, movement and his ability to hold the ball up while others move into position around him.     Frome Town Weymouth Officials M Rushton G Barter J Welsh Match Photos Photos of this match taken by our expert photographer Chas Hadfield can be viewed by clicking on this rectangle Match Sponsor The Ultras Ball Sponsor Rodden Road Cars Simon Evans Barry McConnell Lewis Clarke Stephen Reed Kyle Critchell Alex Jeannin Craig Duff Dan Clay Ben Joyce Dan Smith Scott Walker Scott Dixon Mark Ford Matt Groves Lee Sharpe Chris Powell